html templates

Interview

Dr. Matthias Spaink
PhD in Business Administration, Nyenrode Business University (NL), MBA University of Maastricht (NL), MSc. Economics, Erasmus University Rotterdam (NL). Regional Manager Middle East and Africa, Cargill International SA (CH).

Why do you teach at IFM?

I’m passionate about international business and I like to share this passion with a new generation of managers and entrepreneurs. IFM offers me a professional and pleasant environment, with first class people.


Which topics do you teach at IFM?

International Business and Negotiation.

What are the advantages of studying your topic?

Studying International Business and Negotiation not only provide a foundation for an international career, the topics are all around us. For instance, the International Business class helps to better understand economic dependencies between countries. In class we spend a lot of time discussing relevant actual events. The importance of Negotiation goes beyond the business world. We all negotiate with the people around us every day.


How would you describe your teaching style?
Interactive and a blend of theory and practice. Providing a solid academic framework is the base. I make use of case studies so that the students can apply the theory in business settings. And having been in International Business for more than 20 years myself, I use a lot of practical examples. And I like to speak about the things that are important in practice, but that you don’t find in any book.

How does your teaching style influence your class?
I like to bring the topics to life and I encourage the students to take a critical stand and develop their own way of thinking. I appreciate lively classroom discussions and I like it when students come to me after class to ask for additional reading or to exchange further ideas.


How would you describe your students? 
What they have in common is that they are smart and eager to learn. They come from a broad range of backgrounds with different walks of life. We always have students from different countries and different industries in different stages of their career. This makes the classroom discussions very interesting. And the students learn a lot form their fellow classmates.

What advice would you give to the future generation of entrepreneurs and managers?
In the words of Mahatma Ghandi: “Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”

website design templates

Interview

Dr. Matthias Spaink
Docteur en International Business Nyenrode Business Université (NL), MBA Université de Maastricht (NL), MSc. Economie, Université Erasmus Rotterdam (NL). Regional Manager Moyen-Orient & Afrique, Cargill International SA (CH)

Pourquoi enseignez-vous à l’IFM?

Les affaires internationales me passionnent et j’aime partager cette passion avec une nouvelle génération de managers et d’entrepreneurs. IFM offre un environnement professionnel et agréable.


Quelles matières enseignez-vous à l’IFM?

International Business et négociations.


Pourquoi étudier vos matières?

Etudier le commerce international et les négociations ne constitue pas seulement une base pour une carrière internationale, mais aussi ces sujets nous entourent. Par exemple, le cours International Business permet de mieux comprendre les interactions économiques entre pays. En classe, nous passons beaucoup de temps à discuter de l’actualité. L’importance des négociations dépasse le monde des affaires. Nous négocions avec les gens qui nous entourent tous les jours.



Comment décririez-vous votre style d’enseignement?
Interactif, avec un mélange de théorie et de pratique. Fournir un cadre académique solide est la base. Je me sers d’études de cas pour que les étudiants puissent appliquer la théorie en entreprise. Ayant travaillé dans le commerce international pendant plus de 20 ans, j’utilise beaucoup d’exemples pratiques vécus. J’aime parler des choses qui sont importantes dans la pratique que vous ne pouvez pas trouver dans un livre.

Comment votre style d’enseignement influence-t-il votre classe?
J’aime donner vie aux sujets, j’encourage les étudiants à prendre position de manière critique et à développer leur propre opinion. J’apprécie les discussions animées en classe et j’aime bien quand les étudiants viennent me voir après la classe pour demander des lectures supplémentaires ou pour échanger d’autres idées.


Comment décririez-vous vos étudiants?
Ce qu’ils ont en commun, c’est qu’ils sont compétents et désireux d’apprendre. Nous avons des étudiants de différents pays et avec des parcours divers. Cela rend les discussions en classe très intéressantes. Et les étudiants apprennent beaucoup de leurs camarades de classe.

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à la future génération d’entrepreneurs et de managers?
En citant Mahatma Gandhi: «Vis comme si tu devais mourir demain. Apprends comme si tu devais vivre pour toujours.»